Current MPs

Shivraj Singh Chauhan: Chief Minister (CM) of Madhya Pradesh

Rating : 3.5 ( 2 vote)

Age: 58
Address: Shyamla Hills,Bhopal
Phone: +91 33 2214 5555, +91 755 2441581, 2441033
Since: 29-11-2005
Tenure Time (Duration): 7 years, 48 days
Party: Bharatiya Janata Party  
State: Madhya Pradesh
Sub Constituencies:
: 4 : 2878
About Shivraj Singh Chauhan

Shivraj Singh Chauhan (born 5 March 1959) is the current chief minister of Madhya Pradesh. He replaced Babulal Gaur as the chief minister on 29 November 2005. He served as General Secretary of the BJP and State President, Madhya Pradesh BJP. He joined the RSS in 1972. He belongs to the Bharatiya Janata Party and has been the president of its Madhya Pradesh state party unit in the recent past. He has been a five-time Member of Parliament, representing Vidisha in the Lok Sabha since 1991. At present, he represents Budhni, a tehsil place in Sehore District of Madhya Pradesh in the state assembly.

His early political career can be defined as up to the point of his first election to the Lok Sabha. Till then, he had been a President of Model Higher Secondary School Students Union in 1975. In 1976-77, he participated in underground movement against Emergency and was imprisoned in Bhopal Jail for some time.

A Member of Committee on Labour and Welfare from 1993 to 1996

A Member of Hindi Salahkar Samiti from 1994 to 1996.

He was first elected to the State Assembly from Budhni Constituency in 1990. He was elected a Member of Parliament for the first time in his career in 10th Lok Sabha from Vidisha Constituency in the following year.

In 1996, he was re-elected to the 11th Lok Sabha (his second term). He was Member of Committee on Urban and Rural Development and Member of Consultative Committee, Ministry of Human Resources Development and Member of Committee on Urban and Rural Development from 1996 to 1997 and Member of Committee on Urban and Rural Development, General Secretary of B.J.P., Madhya Pradesh in 1997-98.

Again in 1998, he was re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (third term). He was Member, Committee on Urban and Rural Development and its Sub-Committee on Ministry of Rural Areas and Employment in 1998-99.

His fourth term in the Lok Sabha (13th Lok Sabha) was from 1999. He was member of Committee on Agriculture in 1999-2000, member of Committee on Public Undertakings from 1999 to 2001, and National President of Bhartiya Janta Yuva Morcha from 2000 to 2003. He was also the Chairman of House Committee (Lok Sabha) and National Secretary of Bhartiya Janta Party.

The BJP swept Madhya Pradesh in the Assembly elections of December 2003. At that time, Shivraj Singh contested polls unsuccessfully against the incumbent Chief Minister Digvijay Singh from Raghogarh.

He was a member of Consultative Committee, ministry of Communications from 2000 to 2004. He was re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha (5th term) in 2004, with a margin of over 260,000 votes. He was member of Committee on Agriculture, member of Joint Committee on Offices of Profit, National General Secretary of BJP, Secretary of Parliamentary Board, and Secretary (Central Election Committee). He also headed Housing Committee of Lok Sabha, and member of Committee on Ethics.

As the state BJP President, Shivraj Singh Chauhan was chosen to become the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh on November 30, 2005. He contested a by-election from Budhni assembly constituency the following year, winning his old seat by a margin of over 36,000 votes. In 2008, Shivraj Singh Chauhan retained the Budhni seat by over 41,000 votes, and with it, led the BJP to a second consecutive victory in the state. On December 12, 2008, he was sworn in for his second term.

If You Want to Update Profile of Shivraj Singh Chauhan, Please Comment Below or Write It Here

Development in Constituency

Add Development

Issues in Constituency

Add Issues