Current MPs

Tarun Gogoi: Chief Minister (CM) of Assam

Rating : 2.0 ( 1 vote)

Age: 75
Address: Janta Bhawan, Dispur
Phone: +91 361 2262222, +91 361 2266188
Since: 17/05/2001
Tenure Time (Duration): 11 years, 244 days
Party: Indian National Congress  
State: Assam
Sub Constituencies:
: 0 : 1509
About Tarun Gogoi

Tarun Gogoi (born 11 October 1934) is an Indian politician who has served as the Chief Minister of Assam since 2001. He is a member of the Indian National Congress and has led the party to a record three consecutive electoral victories in Assam.

Gogoi was born in the Jorhat district of Assam to an Ahom family. He studied at the Jorhat Government Boys School and graduated with BA and LLB degrees from the University of Dibrugarh and the University of Guwahati respectively. Gogoi practised law with the Assam Bar Council. Gogoi has served as the chairman of the Assam Small-Scale Industries Development Corporation.

Gogoi was elected to the Jorhat Municipal Board in 1968. He married Dolly Gogoi in 1972 and has two children.

Gogoi has served six terms as a Member of Parliament (MP) from the Lok Sabha. He first represented Jorhat in 1971–85. Later Gogoi was elected from Kaliabor (1991–96/1998–2002). The Kaliabor seat is currently held by his younger brother Dip Gogoi.

Gogoi became a political leader with national stature after he was elected Joint Secretary of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) in 1976 under Prime Minister Indira Gandhi. He later served as General Secretary of the AICC (1985–90) under Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi. Gogoi served in the Union Cabinet of India under Prime Minister P. V. Narasimha Rao as Union Minister of State in the Food and Food Processing Industry departments (1991–96).

Gogoi served as the President of the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) in 1986–90. He was elected to a second term as President in 1996. Gogoi has since served four terms as a Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) in the legislature of Assam. He first represented Margherita constituency in the legislature in 1996–98. Gogoi has represented the Titabar constituency since 2001.

Gogoi was elected Chief Minister of Assam in 2001 after he led the Indian National Congress to victory in the state elections. He has since led the party to a record three consecutive electoral victories in the state as Chief Minister.

If You Want to Update Profile of Tarun Gogoi, Please Comment Below or Write It Here

Development in Constituency

Add Development

Issues in Constituency

Add Issues